Skip to main content
Open Access Publications from the University of California

Dermatology Online Journal

Dermatology Online Journal bannerUC Davis

News from the American Academy of Dermatology

Main Content

Dermatology Online Journal -- December 1995
Volume 1, Number 2

(12) News from the American Academy of Dermatology

Thomas L. Ray M.D.


AAD Election Results


Roger I. Ceilley, M.D. of Des Moines, Iowa was elected this past fall to be the President-Elect of the American Academy of Dermatology. After serving in this capacity in 1996, he will become the AAD President ay the 1997 Annual in San Francisco in March, 1997.

Dr. Ceilley is in private practice in West Des Moines, Iowa. He is also Chief of the Dermatology Section of Iowa Methodist Medical Center, and an Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Dermatology at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in Iowa City, Iowa. He has held numerous leadership positions in the Academy including Board of Directors, Long Range Planning Council, Guidelines of Care Committee and the Advisory Council. He is a past President of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery.

For additional background and policy positions see the exclusive Der matology Online Journal Interview in the July 1995 issue of DOJ.

Vice President-Elect

Antoinette F. Hood, M.D. of Indianapolis, Indiana was elected to be the new Vice President-Elect of the AAD for 1996 and will be installed as Vice President at the Annual Meeting in March, 1997.

Dr. Hood is Professor of Dermatology and Pathology, the Director of Dermatopathology, and an Assistant Dean at Indiana University School of Medicine. She has been an active leader in the educational activities of the Academy, including Chair of the A/V Education Committee, Vice President and President of the Sulzberger Institute, Blue Ribbon Panel on Education, as well serving on the Advisory Council. She is the Director of the Gross and Microscopic Dermatology Symposium at the Annual Meeting.

Board of Directors

Boni E. Elewski, M.D. of Cleveland, Ohio was elected to the AAD Board of Directors. Dr. Elewski is an Associate Professor of Dermatology at Case Western University and University Hospitals of Cleveland.

James D. Maberry, M.D. of Fort Worth, Texas was elected to the AAD Board of Directors. Dr. Maberry is in private practice and is a Clinical Instructor/Lecturer at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston and the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth.

Sorrel S. Resnik, M.D. of Miami, Florida was elected to the AAD Board of Directors. Dr. Resnik is Head of the Division of Pediatric Dermatology at Miami Children's Hospital, and a Clinical Professor of Dermatology and Cutaneous Surgery at the University of Miami School of Medicine.

Ronald G. Wheeland, M.D. of Albuquerque, New Mexico was elected to the AAD Board of Directors. Dr. Wheeland is Professor and Chair of the Department of Dermatology at the university of New Mexico School of Medicine, and past Chair of the Department of Dermatology at the University of California - Davis.


Health and Human Services - Practicing Physicians Advisory Council

On December 11, 1995, Health and Human Services Secretary Donna Shalala appointed Maisie Tam, M.D. of Burlington, Massachusetts to the Practicing Physicians Advisory Council. Dr. Tam is in private practice in the Boston area, with expertise in dermatologic surgery. Her role on the 15 member Council is to advise the Secretary of HHS and the Administrator of HCFA on proposed changes in the regulations and instructions of Medicare and Medicaid programs. Dr, Tam is the first dermatologists to be named to this important position.

Arrange A Meeting With Your Congressman Or Senator

Take the opportunity to visit your Congressman or Senator during the Annual Meeting of the AAD in Washington, D.C. The Academy's Wshington Office will arrange appointments for you with your representatives or their health aides. To take advantage of this special opportunity, visit the AAD's WebSite at URL:, select the Professional Information topic, then select "Arrange a Meeting with your Congressman or Senator " - or go directly to the Meet Your Representative Page at URL: Complete the form by following the directions and then click on the send button at the bottom of the form, or fax the information back to Cheryl A. Hayden in the Washington Office at 202-842-4355. It couldn't be easier!

Here is your chance to let Washington and your representatives hear your concerns about dermatologic health care in America.

Please respond before January 31, 1996.

January, 1996 Thomas L. Ray, M.D. / Dept. of Dermatology / University of Iowa /